Mental Health Monday meet Thursday Quote Du Jour

by Janie Jones

Happy Monday everybody.

I could almost be happy today, but I miss Leif.  I went out to the farm on Saturday to check in on things for him (he’s finished week 2 of his Snow Bird Sojourn and has another week or more to go before serious contemplation of return) and to do a little laundry.  I was contemplating staying the night, but after about two hours I began to feel so horribly sad, lonely and anxious that I suddenly had to just finish and leave.  Being out there totally alone, no dogs, no cat, no chickens, no man-  it was soul crushingly depressing.  I cannot explain why, undoubtedly there is some subconscious message struggling to bubble up to the surface, but amid all the other life drama I don’t have time to stop and fish for it.  As it was, I became so agitated I couldn’t apply myself to any task other than hurrying up and leaving.

Anyway, I got back in town and yesterday’s 3 hour physics marathon actually left me feeling somewhat relieved this morning; I can start my week caught up on homework and it feels good.  I am going to try very hard to manage my time this week, to stay focused on the positives and start working on my new research appointment.

Man, it feels good to say that.  I have a research appointment.  I do research.  I will have to write my own research paper.

But first I have to learn more about my subject.  I am hoping I can kill two birds with one stone and use my research on Lyme Disease as my presentation for the seminar I have to give later this semester.  I can think of nothing more pleasant than to be able to combine them and make my seminar project have a more useful purpose than just killing off another graduation requirement.

And this brings me to today’s Monday Mental Health topic.  I’m really trying to embrace this crazy schedule ahead of me and make the best of the things I don’t want to do, so that hopefully the parts I do want to do can shine instead of getting buried in the crap.

So, I stumbled on this quote which I feel sums up certain aspects of my life quite nicely:

80% of success is showing up.

-Woody Allen

Well, I can definitely do that!  And, if only showing up could guarantee me an 80% in physics, well, I’d be super groovy okay with that!

Leave a Reply

