Endings and Beginnings

by Janie Jones

Today is the last official day of class at Local College.  I have a few more days of work for O Chem and some final examinations, but after today I can’t pretend anymore that life isn’t going to change absolutely completely in every conceivable way.

I’m looking forward to some of these upcoming changes, and dreading others.  Somethings I am so totally relieved to leave behind, and others I will miss.  But, the things I will miss I will miss with a pain so deep and so profound it’s overwhelming.

I hadn’t really thought much about it as of yet, being focused on finishing my coursework, but this morning it hit me like a ton of bricks.  I have to say goodbye today to a very dear and wonderful person who has been my counselor at Local College.  She is a treasure and has been there for me in so many ways, sharing my triumphs, my frustration, my anger and the depths of my depression.  She has been exactly what I needed, when I needed it.  People like this come into your life so rarely that when your paths diverge their absence is felt very keenly.  How do you thank these people enough, how to you show them just how much their support has meant?

 

 

 

 

One Comment to “Endings and Beginnings”

  1. A simple card, or hand written note is best. The few words you write become a treasure kept forever. I know this from experience.

Leave a Reply

