Now this is what it takes to get a snow day in the Great White North

by Janie Jones

I choose to live in a winter wonderland.  However, even up here it gets stupidly cold.  We’ve experienced -50 degree days, I’ve driven in white outs to get to school and gotten stuck in the parking lot at campus, but the Powers That Be never called off class.  Until yesterday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And, not only was school called off, but the post didn’t even come.

It started Thursday and ended Friday mid morning.  Friday morning we couldn’t get either the front or back doors open to let the dogs out, and when we put up the garage door, poor Rupert had to wade out chest deep to pee.  It literally took us two days to get caught up with all the snow.  We had quite a bit to begin with, and we are running out of places to put the snow we clear off the walks and the driveway.  I don’t know the official count in inches, but I’d wager it was at least a foot, not counting the areas it drifted. In some places the piles of snow are over 5 feet tall.  I know because I have to lift the shovel over my head to dump the snow.

The joke up here is, Global Warming?  Bring it on!

3 Comments to “Now this is what it takes to get a snow day in the Great White North”

  1. Wow! Now that’s snow! We have three snowflakes and the whole UK falls apart.

    How do add text and arrows to your photos?

  2. Indeed it is a lot of snow, even for my neck of the woods. And, everyone up here is shaking our heads as we know March (and sometimes April even) usually gives us a couple more good snow storms every year.

    The text and arrows are added using photo editing software. I usually use Paint, which has always come standard with my pc’s and laptops. It’s pretty restrictive and simple, but generally that’s all I want. But it also can be done by using Photoshop, which is software you need to buy. There used to be a be a free online program that was really cool called Picnik, but I think it is now a part of Google, and I don’t know how it works anymore.

  3. omg that is a lot of snow

Leave a Reply

