What I Learned Last Week #3

by Janie Jones

No Earth-shattering, mind-blowing, or otherwise life altering factoids were imprinted on my brain this week.  It was difficult coming up with something for this post as I spent most of the week feeling utterly brain-dead and stupid.  Calculus has been very frustrating.  And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

In Biology we were focusing on Fungi last week.  I did learn some interesting things about the value of Fungi in an article I had to read for class.  Apparently they have potential applications ranging from bio remediation (including septic runoff management, to oil spill and radioactive waste cleanup), healthcare (everything from penicillin to anti nerve gas to cancer cures) to  pest control.  If mushrooms are your bag baby, you can read the whole article yourselves: Mushroom Manifesto:  How Mushrooms Can Save the World by Ken Miller of Discover Magazine.

I have a test for O Chem today.  Just like last semester, poor O Chem gets the butt end of my study time.  So I’m up at 0400 to try and squeeze in a few hours of study time so maybe I can remember somethings I learned for the test even if I can’t remember them for this blog entry.

Three weeks down, 13 to go.

2 Comments to “What I Learned Last Week #3”

  1. All I can think of is: “There’s a fungus among us.”

Leave a Reply

