Any suggestions?

by Janie Jones

So, I went holiday food shopping.

I find a fresh fruit tray as delicious and enticing as any baked good, and while I eat lots of fruit all year and for any reason at any time, I always like to have lots of fresh fruit as a holiday treat.  Pineapples, pomegranates, Cara Cara oranges, Clementine tangerines, Gala apples, Pink Lady apples, Honeycrisp apples, blackberries, Ruby Red grapefruit, and red pears are some of my favorite Christmas fruit tray offerings.

This year I decided to be wild and crazy.  I bought two persimmons.  I understand that when they are very soft they are at their ripe state, and these I guess are pretty soft.  But what to do with them?

Do you just slice them and eat them?

Any persimmon lovers out there with suggestions?

Tags:

2 Comments to “Any suggestions?”

  1. Persimmons are good raw. The texture is like a peach, although I don’t like them as much as I do peaches.

    Don’t ever eat a green persimmon. Trust me on that one.

  2. You just made me want to eat a piece of fruit. I haven’t tried perssimmons.

Leave a Reply

