I really hate ebay.

by Janie Jones

We’re talking hate as in the the white hot intensity of a thousand suns hate.

But, I was lured in by the promise of my Organic Chemistry lab book for this coming school year in “Like New” condition on sale for $100 less than the used version at the campus bookstore and about half the price of most other online used copies in “Acceptable” condition.  But, as always I got outbid.  Probably because I refused to pay over twice what it started at knowing I could find it cheaper elsewhere once it reached twice it’s starting price.

I seriously don’t get people who bid like that on ebay.  Once many years ago I tried to buy a dressmaker’s dummy on ebay.  The starting bid was $10.  It was old, the advert admitted it was stained and broken.  However, I didn’t want to pay top dollar for a new one, and thought it might be worth buying if I could get it for $20 or $30 as new ones ran upwards of $150.  This dumb thing ended up selling for almost as much as a brand new one, then you had to pay an outrageous amount of shipping and handling because it was oversize.  The final cost would have been at least as much as the new version.  Crazy.  I don’t understand ebay.

After that I didn’t go near ebay for going on 6 or 7 years.  But once again, after all these years and knowing better, ebay still got my hopes up that I might save a ton of money.  Now, they are dashed.

Have I mentioned I hate ebay?

5 Comments to “I really hate ebay.”

  1. Oh dear. Have you tried Craig’s List?

    I think it’s called that – with American accents it sounds like Cregg’s List; Just like Graham Crackers are Gram Crackers.

  2. You know, a lot of people keep telling me to try Craig’s List with testimonials about all these great deals and things they find. I, however, have never really found anything I need there. But maybe that’s because I don’t need the extra “u” in words like color or flavor. 😉

  3. I don’t trust people, and I trust very little on the internet. When you combine the two, you find Ebay and other places where lies, deception, ignorance, downright malignant behavior and a reason to bemoan a complete loss of faith in the goodness of humans.

    Don’t laugh, but I’ve never even visited Ebay. That, or Craig’s List. I’m from another age, and still being dragged, screaming into the new millenium.

  4. I don’t think I’m missing any more than those that trip over curbs, while texting and ignoring the wonderful world.

Leave a Reply

