I don’t really mean to rub it in, but I’m afraid that’s how this will sound

by Janie Jones

This morning I woke up shivering in a soft ray of yellow sunshine.

Perhaps you might find this crazy, but it felt glorious.  It reminds me of crisp, lovely fall mornings.  I love the weather best when it is sunny and between 40 and 60 degrees, which is what we normally get in the fall.  Naturally, it makes me want to get out and enjoy the perfect weather.

So, naturally, I mowed the lawn.  You know, I really don’t mind the chore when it’s early in the morning and the weather is mild and the sun doesn’t feel like it’s frying your skin to pork rind consistency.  I have a motor-less mower, powered by human oomph.  Sometimes it makes mowing the lawn feel like running an obstacle course, but, the upside is, it’s very quiet.  One can mow and hear the sounds of the breeze in the trees, the birds chirping and the sound of one’s own thoughts.  Yeah, scary right?  And, you can stop and smell the flowers, literally, without having the stink of the motor to throw you off or to yank on that damn cord until you’re dizzy to restart your mower when you are ready to resume your chore.

All in all, mowing the lawn this morning was pretty pleasant.

I hope this weather lasts.  It’s probably too much to ask, but this weekend is the county fair, the swap meet and Leif’s birthday.  It would be lovely to have this beautiful weather to add to our celebrations.

2 Comments to “I don’t really mean to rub it in, but I’m afraid that’s how this will sound”

  1. Years ago, when my grandmother died, we stayed at her house before the funeral. I was in my late teens, still trying to grasp life, and surrounded by memories that were of a long time before.

    I still remember the sound of the night, the cool autumn wind through the window and the comfort of something that was a memory almost completely faded. The distant sound of a freight train added a haunting tone to the quiet late evening; the whistle a lonely reminder of the past, which was gone forever. I faded to sleep and awakened to a beautiful clear autumn morning.

    Life is measured in pleasant moments. You grab on when they arrive and take a short trip through contentment.

    • There’s a very poetic quality to your comment. I too like the haunting sound of a train in the distance. It always seems to travel better on a cool morning. There is a logical physics explanation, but I’d rather think of it in terms of something deeper and more poignant.

Leave a Reply

