The possibility is very exciting and I want to share

by Janie Jones

It is that time of year when I must contemplate book purchases and begin preparing for the next school year.  I have one year of scholarship money left at Local College before I return to Stickittoyou University.  To offset the sinking feeling of watching the costs add up and the number of new scholarship applications I have to fill out begging for money the year after next, I reviewed my graduation path plan.

To earn my Bachelor of Science in Cellular and Molecular Biology with a minor in Chemistry I will need to complete the following:

College Algebra

Trigonometry

General Physics I and II

Organic Chemistry I and II

An Art elective

Calculus I

Statistics I

General Biology II

Advanced Writing for Science Majors

Genetics

General Microbiology

Cellular Biology

Biochemistry

A Biology Seminar

Evolution

Molecular Biology

1 Chemistry Department Elective for my minor

3-5 Molecular/Micro/Cellular Biology Department Electives for my major

It kinda looks like a lot in a list like this, but I’m really excited because it is possible I could graduate as early as December of 2015.  Granted, that’s still two and a half years away, but, after I go back to Stickittoyou U next fall, I will be focusing just on the classes I’m really interested in like Molecular Bio, Genetics, Biochem, Microbio, and Cellular Bio.  I can choose to take other cool classes for my electives like Immunology, Molecular Pathogenesis, Biotechnology and Ecotoxicology.  Awesome.  This is why I am putting up with all this bullshit and stress and being poor.  Because being a part of this is worth it.

If I do well, Stickittoyou U offers Masters and Doctorate programs in Bio-Medical Research, Biomedical Engineering, Toxicology, Pharmacology and Integrated Biosciences.  The Pharmacology program states that their graduates average a salary of $117,000.  I think I just might be able to live on that.  If I can figure out how to get my behind out of Po-dunk Nowhere and into the Big City, I can do this.  I know I can.  I just have to get into the Big City.  And, that takes money I don’t have.

*Sigh*

But the possibilities are there and they are so exciting it’s intoxicating.

So if you know anyone with more money than they know what to do with who wants to finance the education (or even just the housing move) of someone who’d love to be in on the next wave of new medical or pharmaceutical research, send them my way please.  I’ve got to get to the Big City by next summer.  My future is waiting.

Leave a Reply

