Domestic Yumminess

by Janie Jones

I love to give a good dinner party.  I don’t have time or energy for it like I used to, but it does afford me the chance to remember better days and remind me of the practical stuff that I’m really good at.  Learning how to use imaginary numbers, how DNA encodes the building of proteins, and how to calculate the wave length of a photon is cool and all, but what I sadly enjoy most is the simple stuff:  cooking, cleaning, and eating with friends.

Once the semester ended, I had a lot of housework to catch up on.  There was some huffing, puffing, some yelling and cursing and a few tears.  But in the end, I had this to show for it:

Layered Lemon Cheesecake 2

Layered Lemon Cheesecake 3

It is a lemon cheesecake with a gingersnap crust that I cobbled together from a few different recipes.  And, it is gluten free.  My good friend Peggy can’t eat gluten, but we don’t miss it.  In fact, it was so good, Leif has already requested it reappear for his birthday cake.

Leave a Reply

