In case you were riveted to your computer waiting for more….

by Janie Jones

Or maybe I should title this post, “Miracles of Modern Medicine.”

Apparently, and it’s been so long since I’ve had my throat cultured for Strep that this was truly news to me, they can do an instant strep test on your throat culture in the doctor’s office.  Last time I had a Strep test it took 2-5 days to get the results.  I do believe that was some 30 years ago.  I don’t get this bad of a sore throat often.

Well, anyway, this is only a partial medical miracle because, as it turns out, apparently it’s only really instant if you have the particular strain of Strep they can test for instantly.  40% of the time you may get a false negative because you have one of the myriad other strains that they can’t test for instantly.  So, I’m negative on the instant test.  But, as it feels like I’m being stabbed in the throat every time I swallow and so much as moving my head slightly gives me discomfort, not to mention the dull ache radiating into my left ear (which apparently looked fine), they are putting me on broad spectrum antibiotics anyway (just in case tomorrow they find I have one of many other fine varieties of Strep or, failing that, in case it’s some other bacterial infection of unknown etiology).  Normally I’d say, now let’s not put the cart before the horse, because if it’s viral antibiotics won’t do Jack and I’d generally prefer not to go medicating all willy-nilly and half-cocked.  But, I hurt, so horse-pill sized antibiotics are all good whether proven medically necessary yet or not.

Let’s just hope gagging them down on a sore throat is worth the added pain….

2 Comments to “In case you were riveted to your computer waiting for more….”

  1. I really, really hope the antibiotics do the trick and you feel a lot better soon.

    Our doctor also does a test on the finger. He takes a tiny tube of blood (like one or two drops) and then can test it to see if it’s a viral or bacterial infection.

    Janie I want to thank you for your comments on my blog. I hope that your life will get a lot easy soon and I want to thank you for being so supportive and so honest with me. I really appreciate it.

    Take care of yourself. Hugs.

  2. That’s what blogs are for, right? 🙂 Thanks back at you.

Leave a Reply

