My favorite time of year

by Janie Jones

Many of my blog friends probably know by now that this is my favorite time of year.  I love Thanksgiving.  I love that it is a holiday all about food, and foods I happen to find most delicious.  I also love that it is the doorway to other wonderful things.  For me, it is the kick off to winter, which I love.  It is the kick off to the Christmas season, which I also love.  And, coming soon, on the heels of Thanksgiving is my birthday, which I still get childishly excited about every year.

So, really what’s not to love?

Today I will be doing the traditional Thanksgiving dinner.  Some years I have gone way overboard cooking for days before and all day of Thanksgiving.  There are so many yummy and delicious foods I have a hard time stopping at just the traditional items.  But then there’s just three of us at dinner, and when you have 20 courses, it’s hard even to have just one spoonful of each.  This year I decided on the following simple menu:

Breakfast:  Home made banana bread (you need something to get you going first thing and fortify you for a day of cooking)

Lunch:  appetizers of Cheeseburger Toasts, Chipped Beef Cheeseball, and olives, cheese, pepperoni and crackers (you need something to stave off hunger while cooking all day and smelling the slow roasting deliciousness of turkey)

Dinner:  Turkey, home made stuffing, home made gravy, mashed potatoes, corn, honey-ginger parsnips and carrots, and, to make life simpler, store bought rolls and cranberry sauce.

Dessert:  Store bought pumpkin and strawberry rhubarb pie with vanilla ice cream and whipping cream.

As I’m sitting here contemplating my menu I keep thinking of all the recipes I’m not making, and my taste buds are going crazy.  “Whaaaat!” they cry.  “No Cheesy Broccoli Casserole!  No Green Bean Casserole!  No Cranberry Orange Jello Salad!  No Pumpkin Bread!  No Acorn Squash!  What are you thinking?!?  You have to have all the favorites!”

Hmn.  So many delicious foods, so little room in one’s stomach.  But, I will stand my ground this year against my taste buds and keep the menu simple.  Normally I would have made bread and dessert too, but this year I have an ulterior motive.  A plan.  As much as I love to eat what I cook, this year I want to actually have some time to sit by my new Christmas Tree, sip cocoa with whipping cream on top and a generous jigger of Amaretto in it and maybe play some games.  And, I want to still fit in my jeans tomorrow.

I’m going to get cooking now.  I have a date with delicious in 6 hours.  Maybe I will remember this year to take some photos of the feast.  It’s the least I can do to share my holiday with you, my dear blog friends.  I can’t send you home with a doggy bag, but I can wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving however you may celebrate.

 

4 Comments to “My favorite time of year”

  1. We had a simple Thanksgiving, with a few of the family and what ended up as too much food. It’s leftover time.

    I hope you had a wonderful day.

  2. I hope you had a great day.
    I’ve always thought the idea of Thanksgiving is lovely, and I wish we had it here.

  3. Could you cook and freeze some of these and have them in December on down days?

Leave a Reply

