It has been a weird week

by Janie Jones

Monday school was closed on account of the Veteran’s Day holiday, but I had a follow up with the oncologist.  My follow up MRI showed no changes, and they are now saying that’s good despite my vision getting worse.  My ophthalmologist has me on Prednisone to reduce the swelling caused by the radiation that was probably causing all the orbital area pain in September.  The second day the pain was gone, so that’s good.  They say I may need the Prednisone for another 3 weeks up to a year to make sure the swelling does not come back.  And, some of the other eye irritation that plagued me for most of the last half of the summer and fall is improved, just I still don’t see “right.”  As they can’t quantify that it’s almost as if it doesn’t exist to the medical world which is sometimes frustrating.  I am lucky though, and I know it, that I can still read and drive and function, even if it’s not as it used to be.  But, still it can be frustrating when you know you don’t function as you used to function.  The “new” wisdom is that I will follow up in 6 months again with another MRI and then again periodically for a few years.  If nothing changes, I’m diagnosed “cured” whether my vision ever gets better or not.  If  the follow up MRI show the tumor getting bigger or other negative symptoms appear in the next 6 months or few years, well…  I guess they don’t want to go there unless they are forced to.

Wednesday was my lovely biology exam.  Grades are still pending.

Thursday was my chemistry exam.  I did very respectably despite the panic I felt when I couldn’t remember some of my formulas.

Friday I found out that only one other person is taking biology II next semester and the Dean has said if she can’t get at least 10 people she will cancel the class.  This may prove to be a huge problem for me.  I am trying not to panic, but, I stand to be massively screwed if I can’t come up with a back up plan.  But on the plus side my biology teacher cut a whole chapter from our next unit resulting in no homework this weekend!!!  Yeay!!!

And, now I am sporting a sore throat.  Not so yeay.

It has been a very weird week.  I have had highs and lows, sometimes at the same time, if you can imagine that.  But, as they say, there is no rest for the wicked, and I must have been very, very wicked, because I have nothing left but to keep on plowing forward.

2 Comments to “It has been a weird week”

  1. What a turbulent life you have right now.

    Keeping you in my prayers. xx

  2. Thanks. It is good to have a blog and blog friends to share it with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

