Living the wild life

by Janie Jones

Lest you all think that the only thing I did over my fall break was languish over my midterm scores and grade papers, I thought I would tell you a little about the wild and crazy thing I did on the first day of fall break.

I had to have another MRI (this one supposedly to tell if the radiation therapy this summer was “successful”) and so we decided to make a whole day of it down in the Big City.  So afterward we met up with a friend, had a delicious lunch at Leif’s new favorite restaurant, then we went to the bookstore  and used some 20% and 15% off coupons I got to buy books at an amazing steal of a deal price, then sat a spell at Starbucks and sipped delicious beverages and ate cheesecake.  After we got tired of that I declared I wanted to go to the shoe store and look for socks.   And, that is where I found Nirvana for my feet.  They were a little pricey, and I had no coupons for the shoe store, unfortunately, but they are part cashmere, part wool, and part angora.  My favorite sock combination.  Plus, as an extra awesome bonus they didn’t have the tight elastic band sock makers seem to think is necessary that always strangles my cankles leaving deep welts in my legs after just minutes of wear.   It is lucky they just had two pair left, other wise I’d have spent a month’s gas money stocking up.  I’m wearing one pair of them right now.  My tootsies are so happy!  They are light as a cloud, warm yet breathable, so you don’t get sweaty stinky feet and no welts!!!  I am in love.

All it takes is a good pair of socks to make me happy.  Dobby and I would get on fine except for the mismatching business.  I know, I know, I am a wild woman after all.

 

One Comment to “Living the wild life”

  1. Great socks, Dibbie 🙂

    Hope the MRI was all you wanted it to be.

Leave a Reply

