It’s way too early in the morning and I’m already pissed at technology

by Janie Jones

Some of you may recall this year I have office space on campus at Local College as a perk of working for the woman who was my Spanish instructor last year.  Totally.  Way cool.  Seriously.

The one problem is that Local College can’t seem to provide adequate, reliable wireless service.  Apparently it crashes all the time from too many students using laptops and smart phones or whatever to download movies or play online games.  So, those of us who legitimately need the internet to actually work get nothing, or spotty up and down connection.

But, I try to be resourceful in the face of adversity.

Last night I spent a bunch of time opening files students post to the online classroom that need grading.  Then my computer crashed, presumably from having to download a shitload of electrons conveying nothing but shitty quality homework.  So, now I’m getting ready to hoof it off to campus and “surprise!” none of the papers I need to grade are patiently waiting my attention where I left them.  Because I technically didn’t save them on account as that takes extra time and I was trying to hurry, they are now gone and the only way to retrieve them is to go back into the online classroom.

Because I have nothing better to do with my time than redo something that I’ve already done because my computer arbitrarily decided to go on a vacation without me.

Grrrr.

Okay.  I done bitching for now.

Leave a Reply

