Things Janie Loves: Fish heads, eat them up yum!

by Janie Jones

I can’t exactly remember the first time I ever had Swedish Fish candy.  I just remember loving them for as far back as I can remember.  Used to be, when I lived outside Chicago, that I could find them in every shopping mall candy store.  You know the kind of places, with big plastic flap bins and gigantic metal scoops and you dug out your own bulk candy.

I liked green the best, then orange then red and then yellow.  So, I’d try to dig out the most green fish I could and leave as many yellow behind in the bin as I possible.

They always seem to taste best when they’re warm and soft, so in the winter, or in buildings with first rate Air Conditioning, I’d put one in each hand until they softened, then while working on one, I could warm the next in the free palm so there was always a supply of properly softened fish.

And, naturally, you have to eat the heads off first.

Now a days, in the great white north, seems like the only place you can find Swedish Fish candy is in those tiny movie theater candy style boxes at Walmarz or Walgreens and apparently only in the red color/flavor.  At Christmastime this past year Target had them in “stocking stuffer” packs of mini fish with red and green.  However, something is just not the same in the pint sized version. I know.  I ate my way through two boxes, hoping with each puny fish to recapture a hint of that addictive deliciousness I find in the full size version, but to no avail.

The Ikea down in the Metropolis sells the red ones in fairly decent sized bags, and I stocked up on 2 or 3 when we visited over the holidays.  However, I must now lament having eaten through my entire stash.  And find myself fishless.

*Sigh*  What I wouldn’t give for a green Swedish Fish right now.  I love those things.

Tags:

2 Comments to “Things Janie Loves: Fish heads, eat them up yum!”

  1. Because of your title, I almost didn’t read this. Thought you were talking about the actual ewwwwwww thing. 🙂

  2. Never judge a book by it’s cover, or a blog post by it’s title….

Leave a Reply

