Does this count as a guilty pleasure, or a funny habit?

by Janie Jones

So on Monday, as part of my 10 funny habits or guilty pleasures post, I revealed I am a scarfaholic. I am reminded of an old post for Flashback Friday that has to do with my scarf addiction.

Excerpt from Sunday, November 29, 2009:

So you may all wonder why I am choosing to post a photo of my closet.

See, this morning as I was checking my email, Leif wanders into my room and notices my open closet wherein my collection of scarves resides. I love scarves. I wear them all, all the time. I have even been known to wear 2 at a time. Don’t laugh. I live in the Great White North where not only can they make stylish fashion statements, but they are highly practical.

Leif: So I suppose if I ever needed to escape from the house I could tie all your scarves together and make a rope to climb down.

Me: Mmmmhmmm.

Leif: You know, you should take a picture of this and put it on your blog.

So, I did. Of course, that was nearly two years ago. My scarf collection has grown. I have no new photo to show you the extent of my fashion accessory explosion as it has been parceled out to multiple storage locations (to protect it from being pressed into service as an emergency escape ladder and for lack of storage space in my bedroom closet) and alas I am too busy to collect them all and take a photograph right now. Rest assured, it is impressive.

I also feel compelled to add that Leif has been won over to the warm, snuggly side of scarfism. He’s stolen a few scarves of mine for himself (the olive drab and brown scarves, natch) and I finally finished crocheting his red and black scarf in time for the Christmas after this flashback post originally aired.

If my vote counts for anything, I say it’s a guilty pleasure.

6 Comments to “Does this count as a guilty pleasure, or a funny habit?”

  1. Personally, I don’t think you can describe it as a “guilty pleasure” or “funny habit” unless it involves Methadone and Xanax.

  2. I don’t even think you should feel guilty. For the word “scarfism” alone it’s a pleasure worth having.

    • The art of being a scarfist. Scarfism is a pretty good word isn’t it? Although, I was afraid people would confuse it with the propensity to devour an entire 2 pound bag of Oreos, a case of Jelly-Bellies and a carton of Ben and Jerry’s in less than 10 minutes.

  3. Everyone’s entitled to at least one guilty pleasure. 🙂

    • What a relief. I have enough guilt without having to feel guilty about my guilty pleasures.

      BTW, thanks for visiting. Loved your daughter’s ‘refrigerator’ art. I’m still laughing about it.

Leave a Reply

