Any fans of Roku out there?

by Janie Jones

I’m thinking of getting a devoted device to stream Netflix.

We don’t have a lot of room to bring our nicer newer computers into our TV room and I’m tired of using my old tiny netbook which is slow and constantly having buffering issues.

So I’ve been reading today about the various streaming devices and I’ve decided:

1. I mostly want something just for Netflix. I do however like to have my options open to try new services in the future.
2. I don’t want to pay an additional fee for a streaming service such as TiVo and I don’t have cable so DVR is not an important feature to me anyway.
3. I don’t want to have the same buffering problems and slow service I’m currently having, and I have seen very mixed reviews for other low cost streaming devices such as the Sony SMPN100.
4. I don’t want to pay much upwards of $100 if I can possibly avoid it.

The Roku 2 series appears to have some nice options for music, games and other video services, has generally good reviews, appears to be a leader in Netflix streaming devices, appears to be small and conveniently sized and is in the right price range. Has anyone out there any advice? Ever used? Would you recommend or not?

2 Responses to “Any fans of Roku out there?”

  1. It’s like a foreign language to me. We’ve only just got Tivo here in the UK. Netflix will take a while longer.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

