Blue Pill or Red Pill

by Janie Jones

Recently I discovered there was a blog of the day topic suggestion offered by WordPress (thanks Tinman). Seriously, I had no idea. I am conflicted by this new information, unable to decide whether I think these suggestions are all good fun or completely ridiculous. I mean on the one hand, this new knowledge has generated a line of thought before unexplored, but on the other I feel a bit exasperated. I mean, if bloggers in general need that much help blogging, then what the Sam Hill are they blogging for?!?

Ahem. Anyway, I guess I end up on the “it’s quirky and fun” side of the conundrum because I keep thinking about the Blue Pill vs. Red Pill question. Apparently for some reason this topic brings to mind two of my favorite quotes:

1. Almost the whole world is asleep. Everybody you know. Everybody you see. Everybody you talk to. Only a few people are awake and they live in a state of constant total amazement.”
-Joe Versus The Volcano

2. If one day you happen to wake up and find yourself in an existential quandary, full of loathing and self-doubt and wracked with the pain and isolation of your pitiful meaningless existence, at least you can take a small bit of comfort in knowing that somewhere out there in this crazy ol’ mixed-up universe of ours, there’s still a little place called Albuquerque.
-“Weird Al” Yankovic, Albuquerque

I’m sure at the beginning of this post I had a point that tidily brought all this verbiage together. Something like merrily, merrily, merrily life is but a dream.

Leave a Reply

