I may be old, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything…

by Janie Jones

It’s taken me my whole life to find out who I am and I’m tired now, you hear what I’m saying?
Marshall, Joe vs the Volcano

Yesterday I over heard a conversation in the halls of my facility of higher education that just about made me laugh in a sad you’re so pathetic sort of way. I was passing through the student’s music and art lounge and I didn’t see the speaker, but he had a very effeminate voice and a was speaking to a woman presumably in his class who was telling him something about what he was expected to do. Then he literally whined, “But I’ll be so boooooooooooored.” He made the word last about 20 seconds and extended that vowel through about 3 octaves.

Youth, as ‘they’ so aptly observe, is wasted on the young. I see precious few twenty somethings who I feel deserve to inherit the world. Maybe it is fitting punishment that it seems to be going to Hell in a hand basket.

Leave a Reply

