What is this obsession with always trying to improve things?

by Janie Jones

Innovation is good.  I see the value, I really do.  What I don’t get is what seems like an obsession to always be taking things which are working just fine and tweaking them trying to achieve the bigger, better, more user friendly, more irritating than before only to out do what you just did and called super great a few months before.  And, if it wasn’t annoying enough, in my opinion, then you have to force your “improvements” on everyone, even those of us who are satisfied with the old tried and true.

If you are sitting there thinking, “What the Sam-Hill is Janie blathering on about now?”  Fear not, for I shall tell you.  Now even.

Sometime last holiday season while I was in the midst of my epic non-presence in blogdom, two extremely vexing things happened.  First, for some reason I cannot fathom, WordPress stopped sending me emails when you all update your blogs.  It took me a few weeks to figure this out, as at first I was too busy to think it more than odd that my dear blog friends should seem less than their normally prolific selves.  I’ve finally gotten around to trying to figure this out, and I notice something has changed in how how “my blogs I follow” preferences appear.  I have no idea when they updated this function of WordPress, but in the attempt to dig around and figure out why I might not be getting my emails anymore I accidentally deleted a whole bunch of the blogs I was following.

If you get some “You’ve been un-followed” messages now, please accept my humble apologies.  I will re-follow you as soon as I can figure out which of you I un-followed.

The second thing that was updated was Hotmail.  Stupid Hotmail.  They dumped me into the Outlook format.  This was totally unacceptable, and as I use my email for the bulk of my communication I lost no time fixing the format back to Hotmail.  However, even still they’ve changed Hotmail so that it shows all the emails in a particular thread.  I find this terribly irritating.  But, I haven’t yet had time to try and see if there’s a way to un-do that too.

So, that is my rant.  Quit “improving” things that don’t need improvement.  Or at least give people the choice of “updating” or not.

*Grumble grumble grumble*

 

4 Responses to “What is this obsession with always trying to improve things?”

  1. Some people don’t understand: “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it.”

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

